Skip to main content

Manage the retention period of transactional logs and email previews

By default, Brevo stores all transactional logs and email previews with no time limit in order to:

  • Provide you with statistics about your transactional emails (opens, clicks, etc.).
  • Identify spam emails.
  • Manage your sender reputation.

However, we also allow you to manage these retention periods and specify for how long you want to store your transactional logs and email previews.

Manage the retention period of transactional logs and email previews

To manage the retention period of your transactional logs and email previews, go to Transactional > Settings > Retention rules

For how long will we store your transactional email logs?

From there, you have two options:

🔓 Store transactional logs with no time limit

This option is selected by default.

Select this option if you want to store your transactional logs with no time limit unless you delete them manually.

⏱️ Store transactional logs for a limited time
❗️ Important
The deletion of transactional logs is retroactive. All transactional logs stored for longer than the time specified will be automatically deleted. Note that the deletion process can take up to 24 hours after saving your new settings.

Select this option if you want to store your transactional logs for a limited period of time only. You can select a period from 1 month to 5 years, as Brevo needs to save the logs for at least 1 month to guarantee efficient detection of spam and measure your sender reputation. In that case, your transactional logs will be automatically deleted after the specified period of time. Then, select if you want to apply this setting to transactional emails sent from all your senders or from specific senders only and for how long.

Do we need to keep your transactional email previews?

From there, you have two options:

⬆️ Keep the previews for the duration selected above

This option is selected by default.

Select this option if you want to store transactional email previews for the same duration as your transactional logs.

Never store previews
❗️ Important
The deletion of transactional email previews is not retroactive and is only effective after you save your new settings. If you wish to delete previous email previews, you need to do it manually.

Select this option if you do not want to store transactional email previews at all. This option is useful if you send sensitive data through transactional emails.

⏩ What's next?

🤔 Have a question?

If you have a question, feel free to contact our support team by creating a ticket from your account. If you don't have an account yet, you can contact us here.

💬 Was this article helpful?

1 out of 2 found this helpful