Skip to main content

Delete contacts

Deleting contacts allows you to completely and permanently remove them and their information from your Brevo account.

❗️ Important
Deleted contacts cannot be restored. We suggest regularly exporting your contacts to create backups in case of accidental deletion.

🤔 Should I delete or blocklist contacts?

When deciding whether to delete or blocklist contacts, consider the following:

  • Deleting a contact will remove all of their information stored on your Brevo account. This action is irreversible and all data will be permanently lost, including attributes, history, and other related information. Deleting contacts is only recommended for General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) compliance purposes, such as when a contact specifically requests that you delete their data.
  • On the other hand, blocklisting contacts is reversible and does not delete any data. If you have unengaged or invalid contacts, we recommend that you blocklist them to keep their data and protect the quality of your campaigns.
    ❗️ Important
    We highly recommend that you do not delete blocklisted contacts. Keeping blocklisted contacts ensures that you cannot accidentally re-import and send campaigns to contacts that are found to be invalid or have previously opted out of your communications.

🗑️ Delete contacts

There are two ways to delete contacts. You can:

Delete one or several contacts from the Contacts page

  1. Go to Contacts.
  2. Search for contacts within All contacts, or select a list or a segment in the Load a list or a segment tab.
  3. Optional: Click + Add a filter and choose one or several conditions to segment your contacts.
  4. Select the contacts that you want to delete:

    1. To select multiple individual contacts, select the checkboxes next to the contacts.
    2. To select all of the contacts on your current page, select the checkbox at the top left of the table.
    3. To select all of the contacts on your current list or database, select the checkbox at the top left of the table and click Select all contacts.
  5. Click More actions Delete permanently.
  6. Enter the number of selected contacts to confirm.
  7. Click Delete.

The contacts and their data have been permanently deleted from your Brevo account.

Delete a single contact from their details page

  1. Go to Contacts.
  2. Select a contact to open their details page.
  3. At the bottom of the page, click Delete contact permanently.
  4. Click Yes, delete permanently to confirm.

The contact and their data have been permanently deleted from your Brevo account.

🤔 Have a question?

If you have a question, feel free to contact our support team by creating a ticket from your account. If you don't have an account yet, you can contact us here.

💬 Was this article helpful?

24 out of 53 found this helpful