About the deletion of Free Plan accounts due to inactivity

Free plan accounts that have not been used for 4 months will be automatically deleted. Note that all the data you had will be permanently lost without the possibility of restoring them. 

You will receive four email warnings 30, 15, 7, and 1 day prior to the deletion. To prevent your account from being deleted, you have to log into it. Once done, the inactivity period will be reset.

Accounts that have not been used for more than 4 months but still have automatic activities such as workflow, automatic export, or transactional email are considered active and don't have to log in.

❗️ Important
If you've subscribed to a Starter, Business, or Enterprise offer, your account will remain open, even after a long period of time, without logging into it.

If your free plan account has been deleted, you can't restore it. However, if you still want to use Brevo, you can create a new account.

FAQs

Why does Brevo delete inactive accounts?

Brevo deletes inactive accounts due to the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), which requires businesses to delete a data subject's personal data if it has been inactive for a predetermined amount of time. To learn more about what GDPR is, check our dedicated page Stay GDPR-compliant with Brevo.

Why can't I retrieve my data if my account was deleted?

Unfortunately, you can't retrieve your data if your account was deleted; as per the GDPR, once the information has been deleted, it is definitely lost, and there is no possibility to restore it. 

I want to keep my account even if I'm inactive; what should I do?

If you want to keep your account, you can set up automatic activities such as workflow, automatic export, or transactional email that don't require you to log in and will consider your account active.

I want to delete my account as I'm not using it anymore.

If you want to delete your account there are two possible options: either you wait and don't log in to your account or delete your account on your own. To learn more about the latter, check our dedicated article How can I close my account.

I want to retrieve my data before closing my account.

If you want to retrieve your data before closing your account, you will have to export it before the deletion. To learn more about how to retrieve your data check our dedicated article Before closing your account.

I have a paying subscription; what happens if I'm inactive?

If you've subscribed to a Starter, Business, or offer, your account will remain open, even after a long period of time, without logging into it.

🤔 Have a question?

If you have a question, feel free to contact our support team by creating a ticket from your account. If you don't have an account yet, you can contact us here.

If you’re looking for help with a project using Brevo, we can match you with the right certified Brevo expert partner.

💬 Was this article helpful?

13 out of 26 found this helpful